k1 speed logo k1 speed logo

K1 Speed Carlsbad Challenge GP Results for Season 1

K1 Speed in North San Diego county wrapped up the first half of the Challenge GP season this past Sunday with a number of very competitive drivers on hand all chasing the points championship. Double qualifying rounds on the reverse-ran track configuration would prove to be an equalizer for most of the field. Charles Eichlin would end up with the pole position posting a fast lap of 26.460 seconds to set the pace for the mains.

B-Main drivers would be out on track first and it would be a race full of position changes as drivers would swap spots back and fourth. With Michael Dozier leading the field into turn one he would get a quick jump on the field and drivers would fall in line, it wouldn’t take long before Randy Havner who was sitting in fourth would find his way around Shane Geivet to take over third. Kevin Spring would follow suit, shuffling Shane down to fifth. Mean while up front Jon Simms was working to pressure Michael Dozier and he eventually would get under neath Michael coming onto the straight away and get a good run on him to take over the lead just outside of turn one. Laps would wind down and Jon Simms would take the win for the B-Main with Michael Dozier in second and Randy Havner would wind up in third to round out the top three.

Closing out the night, the A-Main drivers would take to the track with a mix of multiple talented drivers making up the field. From the drop of the green flag rolling start pole setter Charles Eichlin would pull away from the field and put some distance between himself and the rest of the field. Current points leader Justin Tolman who qualified in second would have some work cut out for him as he would spend most of the race holding off a very hard charging group of drivers that were trying to find their way around him. Justin would hold his ground and run a very tight line to maintain his position. Mid-pack Kyle Wicka, Austin Barnes, and Ian Enz, would also have their own battle going for third fourth and fifth while trying to get around Justin but they would get caught up in their own battle and Tolman would get some breathing room towards the end of the race. With the checkered flag out Charles Eichlin would take the win, with Justin Tolman taking second and Kyle Wicka would cap off the top three.

The championship points battle would would be won by Justin Tolman who held onto the lead for most of the first half of the season. Ian Enz would take second and Kyle Wicka would take third in the overall standings. Congratulations to our winners, the new schedule has been posted and the second half of the 2012 race season is just a few weeks away. Drivers have a small break and some time to prepare for new track layouts at some locations.

Take a look at the updated race schedule here

Need Gear – take a look at K1 RaceGear.com for suits, shoes, gloves, helmets, rib-vests and much more!


Post A Comment