k1 speed logo k1 speed logo

K1 Speed South Florida Challenge GP Results for January 8th

K1 Speed in South Florida began the 2012 Challenge GP race series season this past Sunday to a large crowd of drivers, which was a mix of veteran attendees and a number of first timers to the race series. The night would prove to be a great beginning to the 6 month long series as drivers took to the Super-Track configuration which is being ran in reverse for the series. After double qualifying rounds Dario Echeverry would be the one to grab the pole position besting 51 other drivers in attendance with a fast lap of 43.850 seconds. He was followed closely by another resident K1 Speed customer 11 year old Anthony Ospino who settled in with a 43.869 second lap time.

Main event rounds would close out the night with the D Main starting off the nights action. A full filed of 14 drivers would take the green flag rolling start with pole setter Phillip Riggs taking advantage of an empty track early on and running away from the field. Jessy Walker was a full 9 second behind in second place battling it out with Krysten Riordan who was less than five hundredths of a second off Jessy’s back bumper. When the checkered flag came out Phillip had maintained a comfortable lead to take the win with Jessy taking second and Krysten rounding out the top three in the field

C-Main drivers would be out on track next which stayed pretty mellow with the drivers staying in the qualifying positions for the duration of the race. Rubin Hernandez Jr would go wire to wire for the win followed by Nelso Silva in second and Marcus Motes would close out the top three on the podium respectfully.

The B-Main drivers would put on a bit more of a show as a number of the regulars were mixed in with some new talent in this field. Main event favored Michael Jacks was unfortunately wrapped up in a small race incident on track which dropped him out of the lead and allowed Jose Mendana Jr. to take the win. He was followed by Zach Hughes who took second and Quenni King would finish out the top three on the podium from the B-Main.

Closing out the night were the top qualifiers in the A-Main with every ones qualifying lap under 46 seconds – this would be a fast race. Local Super-Track guru Michael Apuzzo who won a majority of the races last season would work his way into first place after pole setter Dario Echeverry fell off the pace a bit from his pole position qualifying spot. Charles Abbott who took second place in the 2011 final race repeated his performance here to take second place again to start of his 2012 race season and Dario Echeverry round out his night in a respectable third place position to close out the podium.

This was a great kick off to the 2012 race season and with a number of race to go there is plenty of time for drivers to find them selves on the podium and score them selves the 2 extra top qualifying bonus points and make a run for the overall points championship.

Click here for the seasons race schedule

Check out location information by click here


Post A Comment